Mic Noob Recording Tin Whistles

ScotsmanRS

I'm a musician, but a bit of a mic noob and could use some advice!

Right now, I record with a cheap mic plugged into the back of my Tyros 2 keyboard, but something in my T2 causes a bit of noise on the mic line, and the cheap mic doesn't help.

So, after Christmas, I have about £100-£200 to play with to get a setup which might produce a bit better sound. Right now, the most important thing I'll be recording is a tin whistle. I'm not sure how useful this is to you, but in case it's important, the range of my whistles is currently about 460Hz to 2960Hz, though if I buy new whistles in the future, it could get as low as 220Hz or as high as around 3140Hz. I may also want to record a djembe or a bodhran in the future, but if you think that would require a different mic, then that's not too important at the moment.

What mic could I get with this limited budget? I also want to record this directly to my PC (which is a pretty fast computer I use to edit video) - will I need a mixer to do this? If so, could you recommend something simple but decent sounding? Overall, I only want to spend around £200, though I could go a little over budget if necessary.

I hope that's not asking too much for a first question here, and I look forward to your suggestions.

Thanks,
Richard

My Thoughts

Richard,
If your computer is modern at all and has USB or firewire then I would suggest you getting an audio interface with microphone preamps built in. It will eliminate the need (initially) for a mixer, because they basically function as one.
If you are not going to record more than 2 tracks at a time you should be good to go for a while.

i don't know what is available to you so I won't comment on brand names.

As far as Microphones go A dynamic type microphone would work well on Tin Whistle and Bohran/ djembe. It would calm some of the shrillness that some tin whistles have and most have adequate frequency response.