Mic Choice for Banjo and Male Vocals?

Let'5_Pick

I'm brand new to home recording. I've been laying down tracks with my free copy of Audacity and this beautiful little 37-cent plastic stick-mic that came with my sound card (Using this setup, I'm thinking about naming my first CD "Cold Fish" because it sounds like I'm sitting inside a big empty tuna can).

Anyway, I've decided I want to buy a decent microphone. I want a mic that will work well for both vocals and banjo - but $400 is probably my upper limit (preferable closer to $300). After reading everthing I can find, I think I've narrowed my choices down to the following:

AKG C3000 - 8th Street, $269
AT 4040 - 8th Street, $299
Octava MC319 - The Sound Room, $269

Any opinions as to my best bet here, or other mic's that I should consider?

Also, I was going to buy the little ART Tube MP for $50 or so, but then I started researching other pre's and wondered if it would be worth it to buck-up for a good preamp. I was looking at the Seventh Circle N72 kit or the ART Pro Channel. Should I just stick with the entry-level unit for now, or would I just be throwing $50 away?

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

=========================================================
BTW... Here's a cut off of "Cold Fish" :) ... This is an example of "boy meets multi-track recorder and something goes terribly wrong". I started with a Band-In-A-Box bass line for Tom Adam's "Sawmill Shuffle" and then just added a whole wagon load of banjo tracks on top of banjo tracks... until even the most sane person would consider jumping. Ummmmm... Can you hear the warmth of that plastic stick-mic??? Yeah, it tastes like Tuna!

http://home.kc.rr.com/gotbanjo/mp3/
=========================================================

Last edited:
Banjo's are tough. They have that metalic, pick on string, peak transient thing going on. Overall a big tube condensor comes to mind.