Looking to buy a mic

rfpd

So, I'm looking to buy a condenser microphone, I don't know much about it, I just know these are the one that record with better quality. I'm aware that it needs phatom power. I'm not looking into something expensive, mic + phantom power 150€ tops. I found "PERCEPTION 120 – AKG" in a store near where I live, seems cheap (around 75€) and has good reviews. I want to make some experiences and some indie/lo-fi/rock accoustic music, I'm not a great singer, that's why I think I don't need anything fancy, I'm really average to be honest. I want to make something that has quality, someone can hear it, but it's not overly produced. I want to make a good quality raw sound, just guitar and voice, not much editing, since I'm not really good at it either.

What are your thoughs and advices on good products for me? Thanks in advance.

Which raises the question, do you have any equipment at all yet, other than a computer?

The mic choice in that price range comes down to whether you start with a kind of standard dynamic, like an Shure SM57, or go with an inexpensive condenser like that AKG. In that price range, you're looking at a commodity product with components which probably are not unique to that particular mic. I'd consider the brand and the reviews, and just get a mic that a lot of folks are happy with.

WTGR rfpd, your post would seem better posted in the newb section? However to make things clear, you need a microphone (more later) an Audio Interface and some means to listen to things. The latter can be headphones and since you are probably going to be wearing them AND using the mic you need 'Closed Back' types. These are generally, $ for $ not quite as good sound quality as Open Backs but at this stage, not really a concern.