Impedance explained?

Ok, I've been recording as a hobby for nearly 20 years, and have yet to understand impedance completely...

I don't need a definition of impedance (a/c resistance, simple resistance plus effects of reactance I believe) but something I don't understand is OUTPUT impedance!

In a guitar, for example, would this be the impedance of the coil in the pickup? Or the impedance of the transformer secondary in a microphone? Does a 120vac wall outlet have an impedance?

The specs for the Art Tube MP state:
Input impedance: 2k ohms (XLR), 840K ohms (1/4”)
Output impedance: 600 ohms (XLR), 300 ohms (1/4”)

Do guitar pickups have a lot higher output impedance than microphones? Is that why the 1/4 input is so high? I've heard that your input impedance should be at least 4 times as high as the output impedance on the device your plugging into it. Can I measure approximate impedance with a VOM?

My head is spinning - - - I must understand this once and for all!

Thanks! :- )

Impedance is resistance in motion. When you measure resistance, it's done by throwing a DC voltage across the thing in question and measuring how the thing fights back. As you get into AC signals, things get a little trickier.

If it's a speaker (for example), the motion of the speaker, the air in the cabinet, the bass port, and the particular frequency all throw in their little contributions, and the impedance can wind up being higher or lower than the DC resistance reading. An 8 ohm speaker can vary from around 6 ohms to several hundred ohms, depending on where it's measured.

With transformers and coils and AC signals, there is no single impedance unless we're talking about a fixed frequency BUT, you can kinda average things out and plug in a number that'll work for most calculations.