I have an AMT M40, should I but a Rode NTK or 2 Rode NT5's?

yamsaretasty

I am new to the business of recording. I am a pianist and I want to record myself. I have done a bit of research and decided on an AMT M40 Piano microphone and a PreSonus Firestudio Project as a preamp. As this has 8 preamps I can get (realistically) as many mics as I want.

I am looking for a second mic to go with the M40. I have been recommended a groove tubes GT-66 or a Rode NTK, or a pair of Rode NT5's. Groove Tubes mics are not sold in New Zealand, and I can't find any on amazon either. There is one on ebay but I'm not sure if I can even get that shipped to New Zealand.

Should I buy the more expensive NTK, and have 2 mics, or buy the cheaper NT5's and have 3?

(The NTK costs around the same as the M40, whereas the two NT5's together still seem to be cheaper)

Thanks in advance, any help would be appreciated

argh how do I edit the thread title. I hate people who do stupid typo's like 'which one should I but' instead of buy. Hypocrisy!

Thanks moresound, I have read that thread actually, while waiting for someone to reply here. My main question now, is, would I still get a good result with an NT5 as with an NTK? The NTK is more than double the price of an NT5... and the AMT M40 is of similar price to the NTK.

argh how do I edit the thread title. I hate people who do stupid typo's like 'which one should I but' instead of buy. Hypocrisy!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks moresound, I have read that thread actually, while waiting for someone to reply here. My main question now, is, would I still get a good result with an NT5 as with an NTK? The NTK is more than double the price of an NT5... and the AMT M40 is of similar price to the NTK.

:D Just prof red everyhing you rite! ;) For spel chec dosent work in thred titel! :laughings: