Home Equipment, new to this

Tronologic

I have recently been looking into starting to record some stuff, i dont have any experience with recording but i am a programmer and anything on the computer comes easy to me if you want to put it that way. I play guitar and can play keyboard.... i have roughly 1000-2000$ canadian to spend on equipment i will want just 1 low quality mic with a pop screen and stand just for some rough ideas for stuff. I write music for video games so that will be my main focus... Reason 2.5 or 3 will be the program of choice i think and i have been looking at a lot of stuff from www.m-audio.com ... Please help me out and post your suggestions this community looks awesome.

I presume that you already have a computer with a decent sound card.

You will need a mic, true, but definitly go with a least a prosumer quality mic because nothing after that can fix what the mic didn't pick up.

Then the piece of gear you didn't mention was a preamp. You definitly want the preamp so you can use the line-in rather than the mic-in of the soundcard. The mic-in is useless for music. The m-audio DMP-3 is a very respected preamp.

Then look seriously at the sound quality of your room. A few hundred spent on 703 fiberglass or roxul can improve your sound just as much, if not more, than spending it on a more expensive mic.

Tronologic said:
.... i will want just 1 low quality mic with a pop screen and stand just for some rough ideas for stuff.
I'm no expert but you I know you do not want a low quality mic. Sennheiser and Shure are two good brands, they offer microphones for $99(US), and the
quality is good enough for Professional Studios.
Innovations is right you are going to need a pre-amp (although I would go with a mixer- Mixers have built in preamps and you get greater versatility than a pre-amp) and an audio card.

My own setup which I just got together is
Yamaha MG 10/2 (Mixer that works as a pre-amp) - $99
Sennheiser E835 (Vocal Microphone) - $99