good mic for all drums?

Drummerdude1989

I'm using a fostex Mr-8 and so i can only record 2 tracks at once, so i was wondering if anyone could recomend a good 1 or two mics for recording the entire set. also, will i need a pre amp with these mics? thanks for any advice, im a total newb.

If you only have 2 tracks, you might use 2 small diaphragm condensers (maybe one in front of the kit, slightly above the kick, and one over your head).

There's only so much you can get done w/ 2 tracks.

I ve worked with the fostex and as far as i can remember it doesn't have phantom power, so if your going to use 2 condensors which is a good idea youll need something to give you that, such as a board...etc

when i used it i took my live board and just took DL 1/4" out in to the fostex ;)

You could look at the M-Audio Luna or Solaris. Massive Master said he uses two Solarises on drums, and the only other mic with his setup is usually a bass drum mic. :eek:

He put up a clip of what I believe was a jazz band that he recorded performing with just the two Solarises, and even with the drums at a distance, they still came out really awesome (big, powerful, and clear), along with the rest of the band. :eek: :eek: :eek:

it really depends on your room, drums and cymbals. you won't get a massively powerful (read: modernly punchy) drum sound with just two mics. you CAN get a perfectly usable sound, though.....but it'll be more towards a traditionally "jazz" style sound, if that makes any sense.

i'd skip using them as overheads. you'll get a lot of cymbals and snare, and a little kick. it might work for you, but it might not.

instead, i'd put a pair of mics (either small or large diaphragm condensers) about 6ft out in front of the set, either in X/Y or spaced pair. put em about head height or so, and aim them just slightly downward. this will get a representation of the kit as if you were standing in front of it.