The General opinion on the Apex460 tube condenser mic?

I just bought one yesterday (belayed birthday present! ;) ) as it's the only large diaphragm mic I can afford for vocals. I've read all of the reviews and decided regardless to upgrade the stock vacuum tube - The Tube Shop recommended the Ei 12AX7 as a definite improvement over the stock tube, in fact I ordered a pair: one for the mic and the other for my ART Tube mic preamp.

Since I'm not an experienced engineer I could be running in circles trying to nail that elusive "clear, clean, open sounding vocal" sound, so all input is appreciated ...

My digital audio interface is a E-MU 0404, I own various Behringer gear (Eurorack 6 channel mixer, Composer Pro Compressor and Digital Virtualizer) a ART ube mic preamp and a pair of Apex mics: the 435 and 460, and a pair of AKG headphones.

At this stage the vocals sound boomy and seem to lack clarity & top end on both mics, thus the tube upgrades (though I must admit the 460 is more sensitive and responsive than the 435).

I tried bypassing the compressor, preamping with the mixer, then bypassing the mixer and recording straight to the soundcard from the ART preamp ... I can spruce up the vocal sound a bit with the Patchmix effects, but the end result still lack that polished, well produced sound.

Knock on wood the tube upgrade leads me onee step closer to 'sonic Nirvana' ;)

I think i would look at your mic technique first, as well as what your doing at mixdown time. That ART preamp, while not the greatest, should not make the sound boomy, nor take away top end.