First large diaphragn condenser micraphone

ex351d

I would like to put together a home recording studio. I wish to record bands that have a drummer, singer (male or female) bass guitar and electric guitar. Maybe also acoustic guitar. I have a Shure SM58 and just got a Shure SM57 as soon as I decided to start with this studio project. Also, I ordered an AKG D112. I had a bit of experience with dynamic mics, that is why I was able to decide what I want quickly. On the other hand, I have little experience with condenser mics. I think I should get a large diaphragm condenser next, for vocals and guitars. The 3 mics that I was particularly attracted to are the: Audio-Technica AT2020, Rode NT1-A and the Blue Microphones Bluebird.

I have a Radial Engineering PRO48 DI box that I was thinking I could use with bass guitar. At the moment I have an old USB interface that allows me to have 1 input either instrument (1/4 inch) or microphone (XLR) and it also has a midi in/out. I am looking to get a new interface but I'm not decided if I should go with usb or firewire.

I know that I will not be able to get a full drum kit recording yet. But I wish to get a large diaphragm condenser before purchasing e604/e904 for drums and a matched pair of stereo condensers. I would like to know which large diaphragm condenser mic suits me best, in your opinion, and I would also appreciate other suggestions. Thank you!

Any of those mics will do for starters, for cost/value the Rode is probably your best bet. Note: does your current interface have phantom power? If not, you're not going to be able to use a condensor mic with it.
Since you want to record drums at some point, you should be looking at getting an interface with as many mic preamps/inputs as you can afford. The Tascam US1800 is a great deal at around $250.00, but there are other choices. USB is the way to go these days, as Firewire seems to be on the way out.

Last edited: