Embarass me - I know it's something obvious !

PapillonIrl

I mic up my Johnson JT50 Mirage amp with a Sennheiser e609 and put it through a Behringer MX2004A mixer into a crappy (onboard a gigabyte motherboard) sound card. I have experimented a little with mic positions and also with mixing the mic'ed sound with a direct out sound, as well as recording just with the direct out sound (also through the mixer). To my ears the tone on recording just does not sound like the tone I hear in the room with my amp. Its harsher, sustains less, is less resonant and just...I don't know..."cheaper" I guess. I am relatively new to this game and have (very) limited funds. Should I :

A: Invest in a mic preamp.
B: Buy that Gina24 I have been lusting after.
C: Change the configuration of my setup.

For techy types who are not familiar with my equipment here are some links :

Guitar amp - http://www.johnson-amp.com/jt50pic2.htm

Mixer - http://www.behringer.com/eng/products/eurorack/mx2004a.htm

Mic - http://www.sennheiser.com/evolution/evomic/evomic.html

If it helps any I play through a USA Strat mostly.

Thanks in advance,

Pap.

Afterthought

If anybody takes the time to look at the picture and specs of the mixer, could they tell me which output they would use for the sound card ?

Dummass question I know but I am perfectly willing to have the piss taken if it means I can get this sorted:)

Thanks.

Pap.

Common problem.
My guess: It's the mike.
Sorry dude, but if you want it to sound like it does to your ear, you have to have an accurate mike. Check out the "special offers" or "blems" page at www.earthwks.com for some real bargains.
Your mike, or many others, can be made to work with application of EQ....kill the high end. After that it depends on taste.
The mixer and amp should be adequate, although there are higher quality choices there also, but I don't think your stuff would really hold you back.

Peace,
Rick