Deep, bassy, warm sounding Microphone

harman90

Hi !
I am new to recordings and want your help in choosing the microphones.
I have scarlett 2i2 Interface with AT2035
I have a mid tone (midway between bassy and bright) type of Voice. I have heard Several Youtubers and VO artist who produce warm rich sounding recordings! but in reality their voice is not that bassy !
For example check the intro of this guy : YouTube

Is this really Microphone or It's preamp ? How can i bring that much warmth in my Recordings?

Some micriphones in my list >> e945, e835, Shure SM58, Re320
Please recommend What I need
Thanks.

Note : i have tried proximity effect, it adds up to the harshness in my recording.
Check out sample recording : https://soundcloud.com/charan900/sample-file (second parT)

Thank you In advance.

Last edited:
Voices do not work on the same level as 'low','middle','high'. Voices work on the levels of fundamentals and harmonics which are completely different.

Those rich recordings are most likely a result of the preamp and EQ. Compared to the AT2035, the AT2020 has less pronounced highs which gives it more of a flat sound with very slightly more middle. However either microphones are neither exceptionally bassy. So when that youtube guy is recording, the weak highs are probably working well to make him sound warmer and with some pre-processing he can boost the warmth even more.

After listening to your samples, you do indeed have a somewhat highish texture to your voice, which will make it much harder to produce a warm recording, especially with the AT2035.

The Shure SM58 is going to be a bit warmer than the Electro-Voice. I'm not sure about the Sennheiser's but they also seem like a good choice. I'd say that the Electro-voice would be the worst choice, and would be the brightest, more like an upgrade to your current mic.