Cloudlifter question

BigJoe

Hi all, long time lurker! I just ordered a cl-2 to use in the studio for the sm7b and ribbon mics, but I saw this reviewer on amazon in regards to the cl-1 which makes me nervous it says "I had to use a longer than 10 foot cord from the box to the recorder or the recorder shut off. Maybe the phantom power needed more cord to not overpower the unit."

I don't think this will be a problem but I don't want to risk frying my recorder(tascam dp-24) either. I ordered some bulk canare star quad cable and neutrik connectors and wondering if I should be running short or long to the cl-2 > dp-24? I will try and keep the length as short as possible between the mic > cl-2, but not sure what to do about running from the cl-2 into the mixer. I am guessing the guy is having other issues, but i've no experience with these devices yet, should receive it tomorrow to play with,

Any advice would help,
Thanks!

I guess the guy has a fault, with a dodgy cable, the cloudlifter or desk! Phantom powered devices should just work, regardless of cable length.

The Canare SQ is a good choice - works well and very durable. I made 16 cables up for our studio well over 5 years ago..might even be 10. No breaks yet.

Okay, Thanks! I have never heard of such an issue before myself, but wanted to make sure. And I have heard great things about Canare cables so I can't wait to make some up. I just had some less than month old store brand cables short on me and I opened them up and it was terrible the quality and they weren't cheap(price-wise) cables either. So I am hoping I can just make my own from now on and not have so many issues with bad cables, specifically xlr cables. I never have this problem with 1/4" insturment cables for some reason.

So I am hoping I can just make my own from now on and not have so many issues with bad cables, specifically xlr cables. I never have this problem with 1/4" insturment cables for some reason.

If you're capable, do it.