Classical Flute

MuraGXIII

I posted this under "Microphone Techniques" at first but then realized that the mic choice category would be more relevant:

So I've entered the home recording world, and it is a lot to take in. I currently have a Zoom H4n, and it's nice, but I've been thinking about a better microphone so that I can get closer to the sound I want. As a classical musician, I see lots of stereo pencil mic setups for ensembles but see exclusively LDC mics for solo recording sessions, so I am confused. Can you guys point me in the right direction as far as SDC/LDC and brands for a studio microphone? I'd like to get a clear, rolling texture, not that pale jazz flute sound, and I wanna keep it under 300. Thanks in advance!

A Rode NT1-A (LDC) or NT5 (SDC) both fall under $300. Right at your price limit is the Blue Microphones Bluebird (LDC). I have been happy with both Rode and Blue microphones.

Again, I'm a noob, so I don't know if I should be recording in stereo. In fact, I have seen that classical flutists in the studio record with a single large diaphragm condenser. I'm open to suggestions.