Christmas come early?

andydeedpoll

i do love smilies...
hey there,

i have yet to buy my first condenser microphone (small or large diaphram) and i was looking on the website of a studio-equipment-type-thing company, and i saw the Beyer Opus 52 for £62 (thats about $120), when i saw that they had the Rode NT1000 on sale for just £140 ($270), reduced from £220 ($430)

i'm pretty new to this whole thing, so as long as something actually works at all im not going to be incredibly picky about whether its good for 'dark' vocals etc etc... as long as it takes some sound thats thrown at it and sends it down the lead im not fussed :p ... seriously though, i'd like to be able to use this mic for pretty much everything you'd use a condenser mic for ... vocals, drumkit overhead, acoustic guitar, even for recording trombone duets and all things fun!

basically, its going to be a learning tool... and im quite interested in the NT1000...

anyone got any opinions?

thanks in advance,

Andy

Have you thought about an SP B1? £65 and by all accounts a 'must try'.

I'm not particularly struck by the Rødes I've tried, for £140 I'd want to get an Audio Technica probably.

cool thanks for the advice :)

i wont say i know nothing about microphones, but i dont know much, and i think i saw a huge reduction on a mic while listening to my friends ex-ska band (its their last gig tomorrow :eek: :( ), and, well... who knows what happened after that :rolleyes:

the B1 does sound cool... im presuming its a bit of an all rounder? like i said in the previous post, im particularly interested in recording some trombone duets and quartets (oh what fun!) but, unless i'm getting even Worse at searching for things on the internet, not many people actually record trombones... everyones missing out!! trombones are the grooviest instrument ever created! :rolleyes: :p

anyway, im getting side tracked.