cheap mics for classical piano?

jojobuck

Hi, I am a recording newbie and would really appreciate any help. I have a Sharp MS722 Mini Disc recorder, and I would like to record classical piano.

Can anyone recommend a solution, either one mic, or two mics? Also, would I need some sort of preamp? Preferably, I'd like to spend around $200-400

I should add I have a baby grand in a fairly sonorous room and plan to mic about 5 feet from the lid.

Any recommendations are welcome. Thanks!

Last edited:
get a sound professionals kit...the SP-CMC-8s with the battery box...(omni characteristic)www.soundprofessionals.com
jojobuck said:
Hi, I am a recording newbie and would really appreciate any help. I have a Sharp MS722 Mini Disc recorder, and I would like to record classical piano.

Can anyone recommend a solution, either one mic, or two mics? Also, would I need some sort of preamp? Preferably, I'd like to spend around $200-400

I should add I have a baby grand in a fairly sonorous room and plan to mic about 5 feet from the lid.

Any recommendations are welcome. Thanks!

Jojobuck,

First, I'd recommend to look at this thread on Klaus' forum:

http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/9561/1759/?SQ=878064a7198470295e766fa166074550

It is not impossible to get OK results with your budget. I posted some hints on the techniques, so getting a pair of SP4 (which includes both pair of omnies and cardioids), and a ribbon (for example Shiny Box), together with some cables, separate phantom power, etc. will put you little over, if you could stretch a bit.

If you want to stay within a budget, MXL has a new omni/cardioid SD, which could work OK as an "M". Together with ribbon "S" such setup should give much more homogenous sound than those mics intended for MD recorders.

To matrix MS into stereo you will need whether a mixer, or some kind of software, which has an "invert" function.