blue yeti low record volume

ariod

I'm new to digital recording so it might just be me...

I bought a Blue Yeti to use with my MacBook, and the recording volume level always seems low. When I first got it I only had Garage Band, and I noticed the input levels low there but didn't worry much about it.

But then I got more serious about recording, got Ableton Live 9, but I still get what seems like a low input signal from this mic.
I have turned the mic's gain to max, and the input signal to the maximum in my Macbook's preferences. Still the recordings seem quiet - shouldn't I be able to force the signal "into the red" by shouting into the mic or tapping the head? No matter what I do, the signal never gets more than halfway towards the red. Recordings (vocals and electric guitar) are always made at what seem like very low volumes, and then i must raise these within the software in order to match the midi sounds in my mixes.

Am I missing something? Or does it sound like this mic isn't working right?

Any advice would be appreciated....

Hi there,
A few things to rule out.

Are you definitely recording with the yeti as input device? If the MBP built in mic was selected then you'd get a pretty low recording.
It doesn't matter what the system input device is; It's the selection in your recording software settings that matters.

Does the gain knob have effect? Set the mic to cardioid (third one over, beside figure-8).
Talk into the mic whilst turning the gain on the mic up and down. Gain - Not front headphone volume.
Does it make a difference?

Are you addressing the mic properly? The logo and HP volume knob should be facing you. You talk into that side, not the top.
Apologies if this is patronising. These things happen!

Let us know, please, and welcome to HR. :)

To what end?
The audio hardware choice within a DAW is independent of the system settings, and the OP already said he has ensured that system input level is turned up.

Heh. Sorry! :(