best vocal mic for under $500

steelpetals

I'm about ready to make a purchase. This mic will be used for rock vocals. I'd prefer a condensor but I'm open to whatever would sound the best and that I could buy new or used for uncer $500.
Thnks,
Blake

There are literally hundreds maybe thousands of posts regarding this on the BBS already. Don't mean to sound mean but all the info is out. Just do the search. Many have stated that a decent mic will sound much better through a decent mic pre but it's got to be a step up from your onboard Mackies and Behringers. Research Grace 101 and JoeMeek. Keep in mind pros often use SM57s. Granted they are probably slapping an additional $5 to 10,000 on the end of that sound. I'm a newbie too so I don't have much to add here as I am doing research on this myself.

But to get you started try the following (I don't own any of the below but have heard consistant good things about them on this BBS):

Condensers:
- - -
Neumann TLM103
Audio Technica 40 Series (esp 4047)
Shure KSM Series
Studio Projects T3 (tube)
Rode NTK (tube)
Marshall MXL V69 (tube)

Dynamics:
- - -
Electro Voice RE20
Shure SM7
Sennheiser MD441
Beyerdynamic M88

I've heard LOTS of great things about the R0de NTK from the pros. I haven't had personal experience with the particular model, but the r0des i've used have sounded great

I'm going to presume you are looking for recording mics, not stage mics. Rode NTK is OK, requires considerable warmup time.
If it were my money, I would do something many on this board will recommend, and something almost no one will recommend.
Conventional wisdom- Marshall MXL V67B or V67G, less than $100, and it works very well. With the other $400, I would get on ebay and buy an AKG Solidtube, which you can now find for $350-$450. Rip the stupid internal foam pop filter out of it, and use a regular external pop filter.