Best mics for my needs

Cheeky Monkey

I'm fairly new to home recording and have been following this forum for a while now trying to figure out how to best get going. Mics are my next planned acquisition. A little background on what I'm about to do may be best.

I was planning to turn my son's recently vacated bedroom (13' x 10' with sloped ceiling one side) into a small recording studio, but instead, I think I'm now going to set-up in my finished basement (larger environment), and use portable office partitions (I'm about to acquire for cheap) as "gobos" that I can position when I record acoustic guitar and vocals.

I have sufficient computing power and have Cubase 2.0. I soon expect to get an Audiophile 24/96 soundcard (open to suggestions on the soundcard too)and a midi keyboard controller (also open to suggestions in the $200 range). I just ordered a pair of Wharfedale Diamond Pro 8.2a monitors and a small Wharfedale R1604 mixer (from "deepwater", HR member and dealer, for anyone who's been following the thread under the "Other Equipment..." section of the forum). I realize the monitors/mixer are pretty-much entry-level gear, and I'm mentioning it so you know where I'm at as far as quality/price (for now).

I'm now considering mics, and I've been reading quite a bit of the Harvey Gerst thread (which is great, and appreciated), and although I've done some searches to try and determine what mics might best suit my needs, I'm still not sure. I plan to mostly use two mics on my acoustic (Taylor 814c) guitar, set-up in X/Y configuration in front (as Harvey suggests, at least to try). I don't expect that the mic-pres in the Wharfedale mixer will be considered terrific, so I s'pose I should get mics that match the corresponding quality/price point. I also need a vocal mic. I don't plan to mic my Fender Strat.