Best Microphone for audiobooks.

Ezio

Hi guys. I'm a student and i have a task at hand that is to make audio version of our college notes. I'm not aware of all the microphones or equipment so could you please recommend me a microphone plz. and im just going to narrate things wont use for instruments or singing. I already looked at acx and neumann tlm 102 was pretty impressive but how much better is it from rode nt2a or other microphone my maximum budget is like 700$ and i was thinking about getting rode nt2a with focusrite scarlet mono 2nd gen. any help is highly appreciated. thanks :)

For simply reciting books to audio, you're already hitting a mosquito with a sledgehammer. Get yourself a Blue Yeti USB (about $125 I think) and be done with it. Don't fall into the tragically common and ridiculous trap of being mesmerized by pricey equipment which is far (far) more than you need. You don't need a pricey mic and you don't need an AI. Hell even the Yeti might be overkill.

Unless of course you have so much money that it doesn't matter and you want to impress others (or maybe yourself) with oooooh, look at this fancy pricey mic I bought. Then go for it. ;)

What Joey2000 said^^^, unless there are future plans of doing much more than just creating audio college notes.

Spend the extra bucks for 'room treatment'. Most condenser mics will be able to hear that mosquito you're intending to hit with that sledgehammer.

Last edited:
I'd go for a Focusrite ISA-One preamp and a Shure SM7b with that kinda budget.
Both of these will hold better value on the used market when you come to sell at the end of the project than the other suggestions as well.
However, if your just doing one project... Just book a few hours in a local studio.

I'd go for a Focusrite ISA-One preamp and a Shure SM7b with that kinda budget.
Both of these will hold better value on the used market when you come to sell at the end of the project than the other suggestions as well.