AT813: Anyone familiar with this mic?

Cheeky Monkey

First, I searched about the Audio Technica AT813, and there isn't much said about it. It's a unidirectional (cardoid) electret condensor. It uses a battery. I bought it new about 20 years ago and it's only really been used in the last 6 months since I bought my first amp -- a Carvin acoustic amp (which has an XLR mic channel. It sounds ok, but since I don't own any other mics (yet), I really have nothing to compare to.

I'm new to recording and am presently starting to buy some gear. My Wharfedale Diamond Pro 8.2a monitors and Wharfedale R1604 mixer (from deepwater) are soon to arrive. In anticipation of trying the AT813, since it uses a battery, do I need the battery when running through a mixer with phantom power?

Now, what about the quality of this mic? I've done some research here, and I soon plan to buy a pair of MXL 603s to X/Y mic my acoustic, and an MXL V67G for vocals. I don't know the appropriate application for the AT813, but whichever it's best used for, does anyone know how it compares to either the 603 or V67G?

Any advice is most welcome and appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Thanks Harvey,

Since it's unidirectional, should I assume it's meant for instruments (like to mic my acoustic)? If so, is it equal, better or worse than the 603 (or V67G if it happens to be more of a vocal mic)? Again, when plugged into a mixer with phantom power, should the battery be installed?

Open to anyone who might know.

Thanks again.