Art Tube MP vs. Joe Meek VC3Q

nezpierce

Newbie here.
gonna buy a pre amp and want to know who wins this battle?
(I know the VC3 has a compressor built-in so weigh in on the quality of that as well?)

Phantom Power + Mic selection combinations that work well with either unit are also appreciated.

Thanks<
nP

Re: Joe Meek V3Q

I have a V3Q, not the MP, and it's mic pre is of the "clean" variety rather
than tube. It's best suited for higher output dynamic mikes and condensers
(not my Shure Beta 87a condenser stage mike for example).
The compressor section is best suited for rock vocals, rather than pop
vocals (according to my taste YMMV).
The EQ, though limited, works pretty nicely to compensate for the
compression section, usually it sounds better than the "roll off" switch
on a mike.

P.S. I recall that Alan Hyatt mentioned an upcoming revisement of the
VC3Q, so if he sees this he may update us. It is quite likely that
the upcoming Studio Projects VT-1 will outperform both the ART
and Joe Meek in the "mic pre" department.

Thanks

Chessparov, thanks for the info. Obviously, cost is a concern as I picked some of the lower end units to start with, but I do hear good things from most folks about the Tube MP...

I used to have a VC3Q and the preamp had a slightly artificial tone, not what I would describe as "clean". It sounds similar to running through an exciter effect. I am NOT a fan of Joe Meek gear and I will never buy another one.

I have an ART Tube Channel that I like much better than the VC3Q. I don't know how close it is to the Tube MP, but I would assume they are similar. You could buy a Tube MP and an FMR- Really Nice Compressor for not a lot more money than the VC3Q. It would give you a more versatile, subtle compressor.

Wide Awake, my frame of comparison is limited to a Bellari MP105 tube mic pre (noisy) that I gave away, and my Aphex 107 tube mic pre (moderate tube tone).
Maybe that's why I prefer to run dynamic mikes through the V3Q over condensers