ART tube mike pre-amps

theflyingfoal

Guys

Can't afford too much for a pre-amp and have boiled down choice between ART Tube PAC and Art Tube MP Studio V3, ART being the best value in my price range from what I can gather.

Vocals mainly through audio technica and Rode mikes, ditto acoustic guitar and grand old Hohner accordian. Does anyone own either of these preamps? Pros and cons for each? All into Roland vs-880. Which will give the warmer sound, or are they about the same?

Cheers

The Foal

The Studio V3 is not bad. It's much better than the regular Tube MP, which is crap. I have no experience with the other one you mentioned.

Have you looked into M-Audio's preamps at all? Very good bang for buck.

Look into the Studio Projects VTB-1. It's less than $100 and much better for vocals (& just about everything else) than either you are currently looking at.

ART being the best value in my price range from what I can gather

By any chance have you been shopping at Long and McQuade, where they plug ART and Apex all day long? Don't listen to what those guys tell you. You can get the M-Audio DMP3 for $150, which is only $75 a channel. It's highly recommended by people around here, including me.

Best to avoid "tube" anything at this price. You can get a decent solid state preamp, or you can get a shoddy "tube" piece (which doesn't use the tube in the right circuit, they just throw it in there so advertising can use "tube warmth" in their ads).

thanks guys - what about PreSonus? Heard some good things about those too, also SMPro Audio TB 101. How do these compare to ART and VTB1 for warmth / application?

Last edited:
theflyingfoal said:
thanks guys - what about PreSonus? Heard some good things about those too, also SMPro Audio TB 101. How do these compare to ART and VTB1 for warmth / application?