AKG mics part III- Condensers

Richard Monroe

Well, what the hell? I might as well finish the set. It wasn't really my intention to cover AKG condensers, as they are better known than the confusing array of dynamics. Moreover, there are a bunch of AKG condensers I'm not really familiar with directly, so I can only discuss them in the most general terms, or report what other people have said. So I'll get those out of the way real fast. I'd rather say very little than try to manufacture baffling bullshit. Mics I have no direct experience with:

The Blue Line Series- This is a modular small diaphragm mic system which uses interchangeable capsules. They seem to be intended mostly for theater and live stage sound reinforcement, as in Broadway plays and theater, as well as for announcers. It is based on a single power module, the SE300B. It is transformerless, with a 12db 75hz bass cut switch and a 10db pad. Available capsules include:
CK91 (cardioid)
CK92 (omni)
CK93 (hypercardioid)
CK94 (figure 8)
CK97-O (omni lapel)
CK97-C (an "invisible" omni with a wireless body pack option)
CK97 CVR (cardioid podium mic)
CK98 (shotgun)

Are they any good? No clue. I just thought the whole system was versatile enough to be worthy of mention.

Perception 100/Perception 200- AKG's newest entry into dirt cheap studio condensers. These are intended to go head to head with Studio Projects B-1, AT3035, Nady, CAD, etc. The jury is still out. I've never used these mics, but like a lot of other people, I'm waiting for someone else to pony up the $100 or so.

C12/C12VR- The flagship of the AKG line, a 9-pattern tube mic. The old ones, which at first resembled the C414, are prized studio mics, said to be bright as hell. The newer C12VR is one wicked expensive mic ($5000 give or take), and the people I trust on high end mics (Fletcher, particularly) believe your big bucks could be better spent on Brauner, Gefell, et al. Sorry, too rich for my blood.