Advice for buying a second condenser mic...

deathpodal

Hi there,

I've been researching this for a little while now. I'm a DIY musician and I record my own stuff. I invested in some mics some years ago - sm57s, 58s, AKG D-112 as well as a main condenser mic AKG C4000. I've been pretty happy with this set up as I've been recording one instrument at a time in the past, however now I'm doing a new three piece project and would like to expand on the mics I have so we can record live to get that 'energy'.

One of the other guys in the band is bringing a couple of mics to the party, but basically I'm looking for another condenser with the following specifications:

* That it's brighter than the AKG C4000 (my reasoning for this is that I found the c4000 wasn't the best for being an overhead for drums i.e. cymbals were a little dull),
* That it had variable uses (I've been recording all sorts in the past) like cymbals / percussion, guitar amps etc,
* That it was easily sourced in the UK (cos I live here yo)
* and that it won't cost over £100.

Now I've made a shortlist of mics and wondered if anybody would be kind enough to recommend one or the other?

SE2000
Behringer B1
M-Audio Nova
MXL 2006
AKG Perception 120
Audio Technica AT2020
MXL 440
Studio Projects B1

At present I'm favouring the Audio Technica, Behringer, Studio Projects and SE2000 just because of the favourable comments I've read on here and other sites. Any recommendations?

Appreciate any help you guys can offer.

are you after a large or small diaphragm condenser?

i am in a similar position at the moment in that im looking for a condenser for less than 100 with more or less the same needs :)

the ones i am looking at are the MXL 604 as an SDC or an sE X1 as an LDC. more inclined towards the MXL now...

if you want a good package deal, have a look at the MXL 990/991 set:
http://www.dolphinmusic.co.uk/produ...recording-microphone-package.html#sterling_uk