€250,- mic for metal vocals

Acierator

Hey there,

Yes, I'm a newb and have dared to post directly in the forbidden zone :D
But seriously, I'm looking for a studio mic in the €150 - €250 pricerange. The purpose is to record our singer's clean old school metal vocals. Hear is a dry sample of his voice:
Anywho, I've spotted some mics that are in this pricerange:
SE2200A
AT2035/2050
NT2-A Solution Pack
Can you advise me on a good mic for the job? I'm also looking for proper build quality besides good sound.

Thanks, A.

Last edited:
I read in the spes the SM-7B requires 60dB phantom power, my VS-100 delivers only 48dB. Wouldn't that result in a noise issue?

The SM7b is a dynamic mic and requires no phantom power. It will, in fact, ignore phantom power sent to it.

SM7b is what you want. 60 db of gain is about all that is needed for it. You will want to pretty much swallow the mic. I'm not seeing a spec for amount of gain your interface delivers tho.

The specs of my VS-100 say that the nominal input leves of the mic inputs are -60 to-16 dBu. I've never had to crank the gain up full, but I haven't heard any noise yet. Do you need a popguard for this mic?

SM7b comes with two foam filters that are typically used for radio broadcast. They work, but most just take them off and use a pop screen, as do I.

Last edited:
Thanks for the advise cavedog101, but de SM7B goes for around €369,- around here. That's over my budget. I've put a dry vocal sample online recorded with my Edirol R-09HR eidolondigitaldesigns.nl/music/sample_vox.mp3 . Type www in front of it, link restrictions, just a few more posts :)

Shop around, check ebay. You should be able to get one for €300, maybe used. You won't regret the extra the €50. Don't make the mistake of being cheap and regretting it in later. I learned the hard way myself, I don't recommend it.