1 Blue Baby Bottle or 2 Rode NT1a's

billisa

I've been using a pair of Studio Projects B1's for several years and they've been excellent doing commercials and vocals for music (primarily with male voices).

I've just been given some $ to go and spend on something and I was thinking of getting 1 Baby Bottle or a matched pair of NT1a's.

I love the idea of 5db self-noise. If I got the NT1a's I'd probably sell my beloved B1's...

Are there any other $500. mics people really think highly of for male voices? Are there any real negatives to the Baby Bottle?

Sure, there are plenty of $500 mics, give or take, that you might really like and find useful. Since your talking about VO and VOX applications, the rub is that only you can for sure identify what those mics might be.

Here's a few single mics you might want to look into:

tube:
SP T3
ADK TC
CAD VSM 1
MXL V77 (used)

solid state:
SP C1 (the new one)
ADK TL
ADK Hamburg or Vienna
AT 4050, 4040 or 4047
AKG 414 UBLS or TLII (used)

dynamics:
Shure SM7b
EV RE20

billisa said:
Are there any real negatives to the Baby Bottle?

Per se, no. But it is a love-it or hate-it mic. I'm in the "love" commune, but be prepared to hate it.

I don't think the BB would necessarily be my choice for a second mic, especially for a quality go-to mic. I think I would look at KSM series, or AT 40 series first.

mshilarious said:
.... or AT 40 series first.

This has been good for me too. (4050) I would be careful with the T3. It seems to work better with higher pitched and softer vox. Loud baritones seem to freak the T3 out. At least, that has been my experience. Listen to mshilarious.

I'm generally a big Rode fan and even though I'm selling the ones I have (have sold an NTK, an NT1000 and an NT4 in the last six weeks) to make room for a couple of BLUE's (a Blue Bird and a Blue Berry (the former of which I'm selling too, however).