midi controller vs digital piano

mullin

hi, i'm a beginner learns playing keyboard and computer recording. want to know the differences and then buy the equipment?

1. what're the differences between midi controller (e.g. roland A-80) and digital piano (yamaha P70)
2. what're the pros and cons?
3. any suggestions for my needs as a beginner.

thanks!

The piano makes sounds. ;)

Midi Controllers generally have a bunch of sliders and knobs for controlling lots of stuff and many keyboard/modules. They dont have onboard sounds, whereas the yamaha does.

My only suggestion would be to get something with a lot of keys. Mine had 49 and I wish I had more. I have a "real" piano too, but a 76 or 88 key midiboard would really come in handy.

if i buy midi control, do i need to buy a sound module to produce the sound. if yes, any suggestions as i have no ideas for that. but, i would like to see price is within $200 if possible.

Most decent digital piano will allow you to use them as a midi controller, but the controller can't make sounds by itself.

I am a very novice key player, but i went through the same dillema. I ended up getting a Fatar SL-1100. It was less than $250 used and i am really really happy with it. Kind of a pain to have to load up software on the DAW to play it, but since that is where i am recording it is fairly natural as well.
The Sl 1100 is hammer wieghted and feels great to me, paying a real piano is very similiar, i like the consitency of the action on the SL 1100 though. It has two wheel, two jacks for pedal controll and a zillion onfigurable banks i have never touched. It isn't portable, but so far i am really happy.

Daav

1. what're the differences between midi controller (e.g. roland A-80) and digital piano (yamaha P70)