Mid/lower end keyboard experiences, suggestions

joey2000

Anything up to about $800ish I would consider, though I prefer to spend less. I'm not a "pro" but I don't consider myself clueless either, looking for it partly to play (myself, not to others) and to record. It would just be my keyboard and possibly vocals. It will also not be some 200-piece orchestral pieces I'm making :) though I'd like the option to occasionally have more of a bigger band sound.

I'm waffling on whether to buy one with sufficient built-in tracks and voices to just have that vs having to buy a keyboard and purchase a DAW, esp for playing, but it's not out of the question.

Quality...hard to pin down...again I'm not a professional and don't need something so amazing (a good thing given the cost factor), but I don't want something cheap either. Seems to me some very respectable keyboards are coming out lately well under $1K that are probably more than enough for most.

Anyone?

You say 'low end' than quote $800. Low end is a $200 Yamaha - and there are actually some good (if not gig-able) keyboards available now for under $300. A lot depends on what kind of built-in sounds you want, the ruggedness of the keyboard and the 'feel' of the keys.

If you want multi-track recording/sequencer capability IN the keyboard, then you want a workstation-type or 'arranger' keyboard. I'd recommend not going that route, but instead get a stand-alone keyboard (with MIDI capability) as well as an audio interface, and use a computer to record.
Check out the specs at online places like Sweetwater, narrow down your possibilities then go to a music shop and play a few keyboards.

You say 'low end' than quote $800.
No, I said "mid/lower end," and many people consider $800 to be just that.

there are actually some good (if not gig-able) keyboards available now for under $300.
I think we have different definitions of what a "good" keyboard is. :)