late 60s sounds in soft synths, samplers, etc - recommendations

zeppo

Hi, I am a newby. I'm not a skilled musician. I learned how to play guitar and enough songs to have a chord vocabulary to noodle around with, but I never put the time into becoming good. But I do like coming up with my own songs. I just don't bother to perfect them. A sketch is fine for me.

At any rate, I say this to say that the quality of the recording is not a big deal to me right now. I want to set up a basic recording studio for a mac, and presumably garageband, but it really doesn't have to be a quality finished product in terms of fidelity. What is more important to me is the sounds that come out of a keyboard/controller when I play it. The sounds I would love to be able to trigger, at least for now, would be like the instruments/sounds you would find on late 60's Beatles, Stones, Who, Zeppelin records. So though I might hear Beggars Banquet via a cheap radio with a lousy signal, though the fidelity may suck, I still like the sounds I am hearing. So while most posts from newbies about how to build their first recording setup deal with bang for the buck in terms of fidelity. I am happy to deal with improving that aspect of my set up later as long as I can trigger the sounds that inspire me in the meantime.