How To Learn Modular Synthesis?

AfxTwn

Hi everyone, I have been watching a lot of the Sonicstate videos and have started to covet more and more the various modular synths they feature but have no idea how to use them or how to get started. I was hoping people here might be able to point me in the right direction. I have some basic knowledge of synths as I have a Microkorg and a Monotribe and will be getting a Microbrute and have played on a few others but I know that those are a world away from proper modular synthesis.

In particular I quite fancy the new Korg MS20 Desktop Kit which looks and sounds fantastic. It comes with the SQ-1 sequencer which looks like good fun to use and a little different from a keyboard way of inputting notes. Is there anything else there that is great for complete beginners to get started on whilst at the same time being remotely affordable? I don't really want to go spending a lot of money on something I have no understanding of and feel overwhelmed and give up as a result. With things like my Microkorg and the Volca's, I just messed about with them, twiddling knobs etc before I got some sounds I like but in a roundabout way, I was learning what each knob did and how it effects the sound. Modular's on the other hand look extremely complicated and so I don't known if you can take the same approach with them. I don't want to feel like those synths are for experts and professionals only but at the same time should a beginner and home hobbyist like me really be diving into that world?

Any thoughts would be great.

You would love Reason. Thor (polysonic), Maelstrom (graintable), Subtractor (subtractive), all built in plus available for hire, PX7 (FM synthesis) and Parsec (additive). With the combination, there isn't a sound you can think that you cannot make... Much cheaper to learn on than the real thing.