Help make sense of all the available piano/keyboard options !

uptick

Hi guys,

Just another newbie here looking to get started on the right path- if anyone have the time, I would really appreciate some clarification regarding piano & keyboard options, because quite frankly, I'm not 100% certain of all the key differences and which type might be more suitable for me need.

I have played piano in the past - though not very extensively nor for a long time. But, since I'm planning on embarking on my journey into the digital music world (ambient, synth, etc) I figured this is as good of a time as any to start learning the piano again, especially since it can be used as an instrument for a track and on top of that, serve as a tool for learning more about music theory, etc.

From my understanding, when it comes to options, there's the Synthesizers(arranger, workstations), midi controllers keyboards, and digital pianos.
But a lot of their functionalities and usage seem to overlap in areas which makes it a bit confusing for me to decipher which is the one that I should go for.

________________________________________________________________________________________________
My goal is the following:

1. be able to just use it and play like a regular piano to further my studies and skills when it comes to the piano. (jazz, neoclassical, ambient, blues)

2. be able to play through a set of studio speakers so I can listen to the sound as I play (like a real piano)
* from my understanding, midi controller connects to the computer through an USB and doesn't produce sounds on its own nor can it be connected through the audio monitors directly. is this correct?

3. be able to use it when I try to create digital music and utilize all the functionalities from the DAW. Basically set the sounds, and effects in the Daw from the computer, and applie the noise/sounds through the keyboard.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________