Hammond and Leslie questions/options

RTWmaniac

So I'm looking to upgrade my rig and starting to seriously think about going the Hammond/Leslie route. I'm looking at the XK3 and I'm wondering if it's worth it to upgrade to the XK-3C. I'm not a techie so it's hard for me to understand if the differences warrant the extra cost. I'm also not a gear snob so I have a hunch that I might not even notice a difference unless it's a fairly big upgrade.

As for the Leslie, I found a good combo deal that includes a 2101. Surprisingly, I can't find much online regarding the differences between the 2101 and the mk2 and have no idea if it's worth the upgrade.

I want an awesome sounding organ, and am willing to spend money if it's worth it for said upgrades. Ultimately I want to stay in the price range of the above equipment. If it matters, I play hard rock/metal, and also do more mellow, jam rock stuff on the side.

Thanks for any help!

Do you have to move it, or is just for studio use? I don't miss the days of moving my old band's keyboardist's B3 and full size Leslie!

the new Hammonds are just electronic keyboards and not tone wheel organs so I don't see any reason to want a Hammond specifically over any other keyboard.
Just find the one whose organ sound you like best and/or is closest to the original tone wheel Hammonds in sound.
The Leslie's another matter since they've yet to build an effect that sounds quite like a real Leslie.
I don't know anything about the models though.

the new Hammonds are just electronic keyboards and not tone wheel organs so I don't see any reason to want a Hammond specifically over any other keyboard.
Just find the one whose organ sound you like best and/or is closest to the original tone wheel Hammonds in sound.
The Leslie's another matter since they've yet to build an effect that sounds quite like a real Leslie.
I don't know anything about the models though.