difference between Rack and Keyboard synth. versions?..

gkowal

hey guys i am very new in music equipment everything i used to do was on computer soft. and now i want to get some more professional eq. I was looking aroung and i see that there are 2 types of synths (rack and the one with keyboard.) now i also see that the Rack versions are always cheaper which is pretty good for people like me that don`t have money but want to buy something that sounds more professional then computer synths..
now i want to get
Access Virus B and Supernova 2
but i don`t know the difference between a RACK version and Keyboad one...except the obvious that the RACK has no Keyboard..
Let say i get a Rack and i want to make music ..do i need some other keyboard to make up melodies or the Rack has its own way to write notes or something in it? I would love to get the Rack version because its cheaper this will save me money for other equipment i need... Can someone explain me What is the difference in Rack and KB versions? and how do i compose music on RACK versions? because on KB i guess you use keyb to make melodies...I am very confused... please help me
Thank You...

A Rack is basically the brains of a keyboard minus the keys.... Instead of having like 12 keyboards in a studio, you would have 12 racks of "keyboard brains" and one set of Keys for all of them, hooked up through the midi interface...

what kind of keyboard do i need then to connect the RACKs to it? Can you give me some examples? and what are the prices of that kind of keyboards? thanks!

Am I missing something..?

I use an old $100 Ensoniq sampler for a controller....(the actual sampler and other shit doesn't work, but it's plays other modules great.... Whats with the 400- 600 price range?.....

I say just get an old cheap 61 key synth with Midi....

Then and again... thats just me... im sure there is some sort of benefit in getting one of them "controller keyboards".... There MUST be for that coin...