Cubasis and a portable keyboard

Jonsey

Hi
I'm new to all this. years ago, I used to teach music and I had to set up a composing class on a minimal budget using standard low office PCs. I decided to use General midi portable keyboards and cubasis as my recording tool and it worked seamlessly,

I have a son who would like to get in to allo ts but he's only 12. I have a copy of cubasis and have acquired a Casio ctk6000 which has a USB interface. It says plug it in and it all works find. However, I want to use the onboard sounds of the Casio keyboard and be able to choose th e sounds from cubasis and sequence them like I did years ago. I have 2 vista PCs now, one 32 bit and one 64 bit. Is there anyway I can do what I did years ago now on no budget?

It would be nice to use sounds other than GM and use Cubasis to choose and change the the sounds of the keyboard, but if this would not be possible, then gm would be a start for him to get interested. It was so simple years ago, can this be recreated now, with a relatively new keyboard and ancient sequencer, which I think is perfect to start? The PCs are low in processor power, which is why using onbaord sounds appeals. Can it be done? I have failed....did the local off setting on the keyboard, and midi input signals are getting through but no GM names on cubasis. Someone told me to get patch names..... Sounds hard!

I think you should be able to do this. Note that I'm not a Cubasis user, so I can't speak from experience with respect to Cubasis. From what I've read on the internet it looks like Cubasis doesn't support patch names for external instruments, but you can select the CTK6000's patches (or tones as Casio calls them) manually using their Bank and Program numbers.