buying a real piano...

Roel

That SMART guy.
I'm looking forward to buying a piano. I'll have to do with an upright, due to placing and money limits *sigh*, but it's still better than the digital monster.

So, what specific points do I have to look at? Anyone got an idea? I found some websites on this, with a few tricks like seeing how long a certain note sustains etc...

If you know tricks... Go ahead.

Im no pro........But,

You might want to take someone along who knows about wood rot and the visual inspection of wood etc...

Strings and hammers and other components are replacable, but If the wood is rotted, your F*cked!
(Unless you want to pay an arm and a leg for restoration..)

uhm

for the price, yamaha's are most worth it, and steinway's have great sound too.

Just like what you like, feel, sound, easy(ness). Make sure the pedals work along with all the keys and all before buying =P of course.

I've played a couple of yamaha's. The U3 and the V-series (Vienna)... I like them both. U3 sounded a little more open, but less warm. But that is out of my pricerange... The V-series might be the way to go. I really liked the touch of the yamaha's.

I liked the sound of the petrof pianos. They are also a little cheaper than the yamaha's, but there touch is heavy, which is a big nono for this weak-wristed fella... The 131 has got renner-action, maybe it has a lighter touch... We'll see tomorrow...

Steinway is probably even more out of my budget as the yamaha's. But I will check 'em. Haven't seen any kawai's but that will change soon too...

Tomorrow I'm going to Brussels, to one of the biggest piano stores in Belgium... Fun day out. :) But probably quite expensive. :rolleyes: Hope it's worth it.

Then I'll probably try to arrange meetings with some more local piano dealers. More of the second hand/technician dealers... See what they can offer. I should have a good idea of what a piano should sound like by then....