Advice of buying midi keyboard

Mikethebook

Hi. I'm completely new to recording and am wanting to buy a midi keyboard (probably only 25 or 32 key) for under £100. I can't see me using patches much but I would like decent full-sized keys. I would appreciate thoughts and advice on buying. The other thing is that I don't really understand "aftertouch" but can you tell me whether keys will play indefinitely while your fingers are on them? I like the idea of creating an ethereal wall of sound as backing for my main instrument. Thanks.

P.S. I will be using Grarageband and perhaps later, Logic Pro X.

Hi.

I use the Alesis q49, a very basic 49 key keyboard with 1 fader and pitch and mod wheels. Great for the price, really sturdy and a simple usb connection which means you dont need a midi interface.

Now, aftertouch.
Aftertouch is a secondry control for each note, but not all controllers have it.
When you press a key on a midi keyboard it will send a note on signal for that note, then when you release it it will send a note off signal telling your vst to stop playing the note. Aftertouch is a signal that comes between the note on and note off signals and can be mapped to something or your soft synth. so you are holding down the note, and you apply extra pressure to the note, as if you are 'squeezing the note'. this will be sent to the computer as an aftertouch signal of a value between 0 and 127. so the more pressure you apply the higher the value and the less pressure the lower the value and so on, so if you push up and down on the note without fully releasing it you can use aftertouch to controller a parameter like a filter or volume or something. all of these things could be done with a fader, knob or mod wheel, but aftertouch is just a good wayof intergrating it into the note so you dont have to fiddle with multiple controls.

hope this helps!

Hi Tom,