The New Tone Thread

I will be following with keen interest. On the Marshall side of things, I'm swimming in the standard 75s, which everyone hates. I've been eyeing alternatives for about two years now, but haven't done anything.

The hate for 75s is mostly cork sniffing and that there are simply many other options. Thousands of very good guitar tracks have been laid through 75s. One of the best things about 75s IMO is that they generally mix very well with other speakers. If you got two of those Creambacks to X-pattern into one of you cabs I bet it would sound bad ass.

A little late, but here's my pedalboard. :facepalm:

Pretty standard, all the usual suspects, nothing special. From top left, going clockwise....
MXR Phase 90
TC Electronics Flashback Delay (effects loop)
MXR 10-band EQ (effects loop)
Dunlop Crybaby 535Q Wah
TC Elec Polytune
Boss SD-1 Super Overdrive
TS-9 Tube Screamer!
Boss TR-2 Tremolo
Boss BF-3 Flanger

They're all pretty good to me. I like the "effects" pedals - wah, flanger, phaser, trem, etc. I do use them more often these days with this newest band I've joined. I love the trem and wah. The Phase 90 is okay. Not crazy about the Flanger. It's been a bitch to really dial in. I don't use the OD pedals much. They're both set as clean boosts, no dirt. The SD-1 acts better as a pure clean boost to me. It's more transparent than the Tube Screamer. The Tube Screamer imparts it's own mid-hump sound no matter how you use it, so I keep the level backed off a little, but it's good for leads and that's about it. The Flashback Delay is fantastic, but I use it the least because the JVM is the only amp I have with an adjustable effects loop. And the MXR EQ is really just sitting there at this point. It's good at what it does though. It can work as a volume boost for leads on a single channel amp with an effects loop. And the Polytune tuner. It's a tuner.