I got a bass

Schwarzenyaeger

Formerly "Dog-In-Door"
I've been pushing a lot of my songs onto a friend to record bass on.
To help take off the load, I bought myself a bass!
The biggest trick will be to learn to play it not like a guitar.

IMG_20141218_194231477_HDR.jpg

It's a Fender Mexican Jazz bass and definitely beat out its Ibanez and Precision bass counterparts in the same price range.

I started playing bass a couple of years back. Biggest transition for me was to understand where it sits in the song. Not just, not playing it like a guitar, but also to to put it as the same duty as a guitar. Just finally starting to sort that out (I'm getting better).

I think you will like it. I even start my songs off these days with Bass and drums, bring the guitar in later and it gives me a whole new way of using the guitar.

The biggest trick will be to learn to play it not like a guitar.
I don't know what kind of music you play or songs you write but it won't always be a disadvantage to play it like a guitar. It fascinates me that in the bass guitar's first 20 years of existence {it was only crafted in 1952}, the majority of bass players were not bass guitarists. The bass was regarded as an afterthought or a new and necessary evil that had no kicks, kudos or cool to it whatsoever. It wasn't until the late 60s and early 70s that you started getting players that actually began as bass guitarists. Previous to that, most were guitarists, pianists/organists, double bassists/strings players and horn players who gravitated to the bass out of necessity {portability and "it's either the bass or you're not in the band !"} rather than choice. Consequently, the bass guitar developed along very interesting lines that it may not otherwise have done and became an instrument of great versatility that can be played in a variety of ways.

it gives me a whole new way of using the guitar.