Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Best Fender Strat Amp

lark is offline Newbie
    Thanks

Question Best Fender Strat Amp

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hello,

I went looking for electric guitars today, and I found that I really liked the Fender Strats. Now, thing is I would like to know is what would be a good amp for this? I've been playing guitar intensively for about 6 months, and have been playing guitar for a little over a year. Though I've always played on my acoustic, and now I want to venture into the electrics. I went to Mars and Guitar Center today to check out guitars, but I didn't get much of a chance to really look into amps. I was wondering if someone could suggest me a good amp for the strat for around 300-400 USD, so that I could go and check it out at a store. My friend suggested I get a Marshall, and I tried it out. It sounded quite nice to me, but just wondering if there were other, possibly better choices? Thanks a lot, appreciate any help.

BrettB is offline 1K Silver Member
    Thanks
    Hotrod Deluxe

ausrock is offline Feeling Monolithic
    Thanks
    Lark,
    No-one else can answer this for you.

Get out and try as many amps as you can......then make your own decision.

bongolation is offline 1K Silver Member
    Thanks
    > Now, thing is I would like to know is what would be a good amp for this?

For what? What sound do you want?

savageblues is offline Senior Member
    Thanks
    Do you just want to record, or will you play live at clubs as well?

What sounds do you favour?

My general recommendation, if you can afford it, is towards 20-50W tube amps. I would rate older Fender combos right up there in terms of benchmark tone, but there are tons of others. They will deliver a warm clean sound, that can be pushed with pedals for grind. If you must shred, then perhaps this is not your best option.

It is going to be a matter of opinion; there are many great guitar amps available.