Whats A Good Bass?

Bass Freak

Hey

This is my first post thingy, so please bear with me. I have been playing bass for about 4 months now. I pretty much know nothing about what makes a good bass. I have a Squire P-Bass. I was wondering whats a good bass to go from there.

Thanks

Fox

Music Man, Warwick, Fender, and Yamaha make good basses around $1000 give or take a couple of hundred dollars.

It depends on what kind of wood you like, the neck, pickups, etc. Go into as many stores as you can and play some basses. Get a feel for what is out there.

Welcome to the board! We can use more bass players around here. Some of these guitarists can get a little high strung, if you know what I mean.

That Squier P is a good start, and unless you've got money burnin' a hole in your pocket, or you're practicing five hours a day, it could last you quite a while.

Fender basses are nice because they're a widely known commodity. Recording engineers and sound guys will have a pretty good idea of what they have to work with. I personally like Jazz basses a little more than Precisions, but that's a taste thing.

A lot depends on what you have to spend too. It's probably not worth it at all to upgrade if you can't spend about $400, and I would recommend getting something in the $7-800 neighborhood. It seems to me that's the sweet spot in the bang for the buck dept. for cheap bastards like me.

Bottom line is, you gotta go out and play a lot of different ones, until you find the one that just "feels right." It could take a while, but it'll be worth it. Get something you want to keep forever.

Fender P bass is one most people like in just about any style. I've always been fond of the Gibson Grabber bass, but they don't make them anymore.

So I should pretty much go to my local, friendly guitar store and damage thier goods?