What bass and bass amp should I buy?

Mongoo

HI, I've never owned a bass or bass amp before, but I am not a beginner.

I've borrowed basses from friends many times and have essenially been playing bass for 5 years now with out ever owning one. Although I am not great I would consider myself pretty good.

The thing is, is that It really probably wouldn't matter what bass I get. You see I kind of have this mentality that less is more and more is less. Meaning that a good musician will be able to make a bad instrument sound good. Its the content of the music not the equipment that makes the music good.

BUT..., I've waited long enough and I really should buy a bass, so now I have to start thinking about all the technical crap that I'm not very familliar with. Don't just say, just go and play them till you find one you like because I'm already doing this. If I find a dimond in the ruff that would make everything alot easyer but I haven't yet.

If you could just tell me all the differn't things you've learned about basses and bass amps, Pros and cons, insider tips, all the little and big things that no one tells you, That would be great.

You can totally unload everything you know, I'm willing to hear it all.

Thanks

Owe yeah, and my price range is no more than $500 - $1,000 for the bass. And I'm not sure how much for the amp yet.

My main purposes are to use this for recording and maybe jam with people. Bass isn't my primary instrument, guitar is.

Thanks again.

Mongoo

Buy my bass amp!!!

Go to the selling music equiptment on this forum. I have a bass am for sale under "selling Lots Of Stuff Cheap" you won't find a better deal.

Go to every music shop in town and try out every bass you can. Buy the one that feels and sounds right. Trust me my son...you will know!