is a vintage strat painted grey with a rebel flag pickguard cool?

jimistone

long standing member
i have a '66 strat. it was originally sunburst. when i was 16 i sanded it down to the wood cause i wanted the 70's natural finish look (the MOST boneheaded thing i've ever done). in the 80's i was playing outlaw country and decided to paint it conferderate grey and put a rebel flag pickguard on it. I started playing blues in new orleans so i put a black pickguard on it. I have been thinking about repainting it the original sunburst...but..my drummer says "no, it was so cool grey with the rebel pickguard. put the rebel pickguard back on it, there are a million sunburst strats but only one like that."
so...what do y'all think?

Definately not. It has nothing to do with political correctness, it would just be cheesy. When I see pick up trucks with rebel battle flag stickers on the back window I automaticly assume the driver has a single digit IQ. MUCH cooler to have either a solid color of your choice or a nice sunburst.

I think the rebel flag is a bad idea and gray may be a little dull for playing on stage. Sonething in the middle might be beter. You want peple to notice it, but it shouldn't over power.

There are a lot of ignorant people out there but fuck them, if you like it then put it back on. Just remeber that flags DO front political idealogies, so just be ready to stand your ground if you run into them.

I don't think so - it certainly doesn't sound cool.
I guess it would depend on the grey though.
However, I find that putting any flag on anything is pretty tacky and "cheesy" (like TR said).

Just don't play any Blues, Jazz, or Disco music on that guitar.

It might spontaneously combust and burst into flames!!! :eek:;):D

If your '66 Strat has a Stars and Bars pickguard . . . . . . . . . . . .

you may be a redneck.

:eek:

foo

A rebel flag pickguard? Where's this world coming too:rolleyes:

remove that pickguard damnit, I can't bear the thought of it.