thoughts on playing bass outta Dual rectifier head to Bass cab?

videodrone

I just joined a band as basist so I have to get some bass gear,

the problem is Im a guitarist and studio gear head. I dont mind spending monety on gear, but I dont want to invest a grand in bass gear when I could be spending it on guitar or studio stuff.

So I want to buy as less as possible,

So if I spring for a Bass cab, do you think Id get good results with my Mesa rectifier Head hooked up to it?

The guitar head will probably emphasize too much midrange and they just aren't "voiced" for bass.

Because money is the issue, have you considered just going direct into the PA ? You could use a cheap direct box, tube preamp, or SansAmp Bass D.I.

I have a Sansamp Bass DI,

How could I take advantage of this, do I plug into the singers PA?

wont that muddy his set up? he just has cheap PA

The SansAmp Bass DI is a direct box and can plug directly into one of the channels on the PA. It shouldn't muddy up the singers sound, it's fairly common for bassists to take the XLR direct out from a bass amp into the PA in a live situation.

However, I'm not a working bassist so I will defer to others who know more than me. Try www.talkbass.com/forum/ There is a lot of info and working bass players there. They can answer anything, it's a good site.

Good luck

Use the amp

If I'm not mistaken doesn't the Mesa DR have a direct out? you could run a bass cab and a line to the PA. Just beware of ground loops.

As for the amp having too much midrange, and not being "voiced" for guitar I would agree with the latter, but not the former.;) It does have tone controls on it.:p The only issue you might have is a lack of power if the band is loud.

I track bass with my MKIII head using the direct out and get pretty good results. I just put everything on 5 and it sounds great. Not very loud though, it's only 75 watts with both power stages on.