Thoughts on the Eleven Rack?

The original Op was about the Eleven and how it compares to the other amp sims and such. My post was not about "what is best" for any particular usage and is NOT meant in any way a comparison to what I do as to others....It's simply answering a post about the Eleven which I have a lot of experience with.

I record REAL amps all the time and a large variety of such on a large variety of mics. Are they 'better' than the Eleven or viceversa? It depends on the session and the needs of the project. It's all tools in the end.... And how those tools are implemented into the needs of the project.

I have no direct experience with the unit as I've never owned or used one.
However. I've had observation of it's results.
Saw a Rush tribute band. Quite good actually. Guitar player used an 11Rack, a power amp and a 4x12 marshall cabinet.
Sounded great to me. Very authentic sounding.

Like the above poster said it's a tool. And as a tool, it seems quite versatile.
The end result is up to the player.
:D
Edit: from what I've seen and heard from those who own them, I'm thinking about picking one up. They're not that expensive and it can't hurt to have one in my studio rack for those times I can't record an amp.

Hell, you could always do scratch tracks at 3am. Even keeper tracks could be done and then re-amped later.

just surfing craigslist saw this -

"I bought an Avid Eleven Rack new from Sweetwater like 4 years ago, but I barely use it and it just sits in my rack. I've used it just a handful of times, and it's in near-new cosmetic condition. It works exactly as it should and I've never had any issues. It sounds great, too, but for me it's just easier to use a plug-in most of the time. Would be a great addition to a live rig or recording setup. There are tons of ways to interface with your setup. Comes with great presets and everything is editable. Can sync up with your foot controller. It's a real workhorse.
$275, cash only.."