On stage Blunders!

getuhgrip

Bring Back Transfat!
I've been playing guitar off and on for about thirty years, but still commit flubs an fubaughs regularly. Has anyone ever seen someone "spaz out" on stage; hit a bad note, pluck an extra string, or just loose track of where they were? Ever seen a drummer launch a stick or miss time? :eek:

Keith Emerson! :eek:

I went to see ELP at the Garden State Arts Center, July 26th 1992, 8PM show. From the tenth row left/center I got to witness it:eek:

I always make a habit of sitting as close to Keith's right sholder as possible and train my binoculars on his hands untill my arms get tired and I have to rest.

During Lucky Man (a song I know how to play anyway) I was wathing the performance in toto. Keith had one hand on a modern Korg synth for the comps and was soloing on a vintage (couldn't tell you what it was, might have been a custom Oberheim) behind him with his right. He was facing center stage during perhaps one of the simplest solos in the ELP songbook.

Well, he misplaced his right hand right off, (this is during the portemento heavy start of the solo). So, his thumb and pinky were glissando-ing from C to C instead of D to D. His head whipped around so fast, I thought he'd given himself whiplash.

Anyway, he corrected as best he could, but there was no doubt that he had made a mistake in another otherwise flawless concert.

Ah yes, the curse! Happens to everybody. The real key seems to be giving no visual clue that it was a mistake, unless it's so obvious you can do nothing but shrug or make a face or laugh...