My kid wants a new guitar....

dreib

Hey nerds its been awhile.

My 12 year son wants a new guitar for his birthday. He is still in the beginning stages of learning but improving. He currently has a squire bullet but has been circling those cheap epiphone les pauls in every music catalogue we get. Now I like the price but I also know they are shit and probably wont last, not to mention not always playable out of the box. Im willing to spend up to 400 tops with the reasoning that if he gets bored and goes back to drums I'll just swoop in and take it back.

He is set on Les Paul types.

What do you guys think?

Hey,
When I was a kid I had a Samick strat-style. It was OK but certainly a cheap starter guitar.
I graduated to an ebony Les Paul Studio which I still have, and use, today.
Admittedly I changed the pickups for Gibsons at some point for recording but, other than that, it's all original.

I'm not massive guitar buff but I'm fussy enough about action and intonation - I'm still pretty happy with this thing.

I think including a proper setup in your price is a good idea, unless you can do it yourself and, of course, if you can play the thing before buying that's always good.

All of that said, this guitar is probably 18 years old now. I don't know what way quality has gone since then.

If you fear the interest might not last, I'd recommend buying something plain or classic - No gimmicky colours or artwork.
I'm thinking of resale here - The standards always seems to re-sell better.