I don't feel like a guitar player.....

UberGawkman

This is kinda general.... not even sure if it belongs in this forum and maybe not in the cave, but it is about playing guitar.... sorta...

I've been playing guitar for about three years. I'm not bad by any means, people compliment me on how well I play for how long I have been playing, the riffs I write, etc. But I still don't feel like a guitar player. I feel like a guy who ended up playing guitar in a band. Not to say that I don't enjoy it; I like playing guitar. It's a cool instrument. But I don't have that guitar-playing passion. I don't have that "go and oogle over Les Pauls" drive, or "go to Guitar Center to play on a Mesa Boogie dual rectifier" just to say I did once. Not that I wouldn't mind having a nice guitar, or an awesome rig like a Marshall JCM 2000 or Mesa Boogie, but it's like, as long as I have something that works well, I'm fine. I play my guitar for the band..... I rarely play guitar for the sake of playing guitar.

I am much more passionate about mixing and songwriting and recording everything, not just guitar...

Am I a guitar player? :confused:

Hmmmmmmm....... makes sense.....

I played trumpet in high school.... learned to play percussion... took piano... 2 years music theory..... played bass guitar..... sang in a band..... now i play guitar.

or perhaps just generic "musician"? Or does "producer" = "musician who loves recording/arranging/composing music"?

You don't need passion to play guitar. I play it as a hobby. Started off in a band, moved on, let my skills slip. I still like to sit down and just play. Not in front of a crowd, or friends or anyone. Just sit there and be content, throw together a few chords and improvise a solo. The most fun I have is just finding a chord progression and singing lyrics off the top of my head, knowing they sound like crap but it's just me and the guitar.