guitarist playing through bass rig--volume and frequency overlap issues

osus

hello,

i'm a bassist vocalist in a band with drums, guitar, keys and saxaphone. we're having issues with live sound and the mixing stage of recording that i think i know the cause of, but which i wanted to get a few more opinions on.

here's our rig:

vox--whatever pa is available
sax--jbl eon 15 powered cabinet, or through the pa
guitar--(the problem child, i think) gibson es 137 something
--gibson lab series l-9 amp (used as a head only, through...)
--some unnamed 15 inch speakered bass amp (used as a cabinet)
bass--musicman stingray 5
--ampeg v4 (70's era)
--bag end 2-12 cabinet (ported, closed-back)
keyboards--roland alpha juno 1 & jx 303
--crate something-or-another 100 watt head
--crate something-or-another 4 x 12 cabinet (ported, closed-back)
drums--slingerland set & assorted symbols

the problem is that we get a lot of washiness and muddiness, particularly in the lower mid frequencies. the louder the band gets, the less anything seems to stand out. with the exception of bass--in most situations the bass is always distinguishable.

my supposition is that because everyone is essentially playing through bass rigs (or guitar rigs designed for much larger rooms than the clubs we've been playing) there's a lot of lower-mid being reinforced and a lot of conflict.

my guitarist is very concerned about being heard and being able to hear himself--to the extent that he typically cranks his amp, making for heavily overdriven, squealy muddy tone.