Free Elixir bass strings

Yeah...if you like bright bass sounds, my approach won't appeal...but I love a low, fat bass sound, and I don't really use it for country.
I think I can work it into a variety of styles....but again, it may not appeal to someone expecting a more twangy bass.

See, I came up in a time where we were trying to avoid that sound like the plague. That's what was associated with country.

I agree. I'm just the opposite of miro. I hate dull thud bass. It's cool and all for certain styles that I have no interest in, no doubt. But for me, I want attack and definition in my bass. Flat wounds feel great, but their sound has no place in my world unless I'm slapping an upright.

Oh, for sure. You definitely need that for reggae, and it's all the rage for most indie and pop stuff now, too.

I was just saying that when I started playing bass, that's what was associated with country, and among my peers at the time in my locale, there was nothing more widely detested than country, except maybe bubble gum and a little later disco. I actually like a lot of disco, because it had all the funky bass lines. Now if I'd been a drummer and had to play disco, I would've blown my brains out.

(This was in response to Miro, not Greg. in case someone hadn't figured that out.)

Last edited:
I agree. I'm just the opposite of miro. I hate dull thud bass..

I dunno...I don't hear it as dull thud...I mean, it's just very round/full, but I wouldn't call it dull thud.
I've got a couple of tunes I'm working on where the bass is actually doing some lead lines...they are more featured than just your typical low-end drone...and it certainly rides the mix quite articulately, even though it's very low and thick.

I've got a couple of up-tempo Rock-flavor tunes, and it's the same bass, and to my ears...it works. the bass isn't getting lost into some low-end drone.