Does a quarter size acoustic bass exist? A good Intermediate bass book

carsoste

Hi,
I've been playing bass for about a year now. I started learning to play so that I could be able to overdub bass tracks onto recordings of songs that I've written on guitar and piano and have been making good progress. Since, I'm a relative novice on bass, I've got two questions that I was hoping someone out there could answer. First, when I'm traveling somewhere for just a short period and not gigging, I take a 1/4 size acoustic guitar with me and that works great. Is there such a thing as a 1/4 size acoustic bass guitar? If so, how much do they typically cost? If so, what's a good site online to purchase one from?
Secondly, I've been learning to play bass with a book entitled," The Ultimate Beginner Series Bass Basics," by Alfred. It teaches one everything from basic fretting and picking techniques to common bass lines, and ends on teaching slap and pop techniques. Does anyone know of a good teaching bass book that I could purchase that follows up on the things taught in this book possibly at an Intermediate level? If so, what is it called?
Well, those are my questions. I hope that you can answer them.
Thank you.
carsoste

Hi,
I've been playing bass for about a year now. I started learning to play so that I could be able to overdub bass tracks onto recordings of songs that I've written on guitar and piano and have been making good progress. Since, I'm a relative novice on bass, I've got two questions that I was hoping someone out there could answer. First, when I'm traveling somewhere for just a short period and not gigging, I take a 1/4 size acoustic guitar with me and that works great. Is there such a thing as a 1/4 size acoustic bass guitar? If so, how much do they typically cost? If so, what's a good site online to purchase one from?